What is Disability Confident? Is my Force/agency part of the scheme?

Disability Confident is the Government’s positive action scheme to encourage employers to recruit, retain and develop disabled staff. Membership of the scheme is voluntary – employers who sign up and meet the criteria can display the Disability Confident logo.

The Disability Confident gov.uk webpages include a list of employers that have signed up to the scheme. As of the 16th November 2017, 35 out of 48 UK police forces are shown as having achieved Disability Confident accreditation. Of these, Derbyshire, Dyfed-Powys, Police Scotland and Staffordshire have achieved ‘Committed’ (Level 1) accreditation – the rest are ‘Employer’ (Level 2) accredited.

Police forces that are not yet listed as participating in the Disability Confident scheme are:

  • British Transport Police
  • City of London Police
  • Civil Nuclear Constabulary
  • Humberside Police
  • Lincolnshire Police
  • Metropolitan Police
  • Ministry of Defence Police
  • Northumbria Police
  • Police Service of Northern Ireland
  • Surrey Police
  • Thames Valley Police
  • West Midlands Police
  • Wiltshire Police